|Address:Mulgrave Estate, Lythe, Whitby, YO21 3RJ|
|The primary contact for Mulgrave Estate is the Estate Office|
|01947 893 239||- - -|
|Social Media Profiles|
|Email this Member||View on Instagram|
|Visit this Member's Website||View on Twitter|
|View on Facebook||Read reviews on Trip Advisor|
|Please Note: Not all members have profiles on the major platforms. Where no profile is available, the link will take you to the Home Page of that social media site.|
|Find this member on Google Maps||Find this Member on What3Words|
|About Mulgrave Estate|
All the cottages are located in Sandsend and are finished to the highest specification. Each has the benefit of a private garden, parking and wifi. Dogs accepted by prior arrangement.
Sandsend is approximately 3 miles north of the historic fishing town of Whitby. It is the ideal resort for families, having beautiful sandy beaches, beach cafes, a general store and restaurants serving good, locally produced food.
Mulgrave Woods are nearby, with tracks to explore by permission of the Estate. The Woods are open every Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday, with the exception of the whole month of May.
The beach at Sandsend stretches for approximately 4 miles and is ideal for families to enjoy throughout the year. The village of Sandsend still retains its character from years gone by and offers an array of amenities for visitors.
Close by, the North York Moors Steam Railway runs from Whitby to Pickering. The route takes you through stunning scenery, with the opportunity to get off and explore the area.
All linen and towels are included in the price. High chairs and travel cots are available. Please ask for details when booking.
Asda, Sainsbury's and Tesco all deliver to Sandsend.
All cottages now have the benefit of wifi.
The Mulgrave Estate came into the Phipps family in the early part of the 18th Century, from lands belonging to John Sheffield, Duke of Buckingham. The first house there was constructed by his Duchess, Lady Katherine Darnley, the illegitimate daughter of James II. She left the Estate to her daughter by her first husband, The Earl of Anglesey: Catherine Annesley, who married William Phipps. We have no pictures of this building, except for some tiny images on early 18th Century maps. These show a rectangular three-storey house with a single, lower, two storey extension to the left (looking from the sea).
In the late 1780s, Constantine John Phipps, 2nd Baron Mulgrave, engaged Sir John Soane, the architect, to remodel and enlarge the mansion. Soane built two new wings and completely reconstructed the interior of the original house, to produce a handsome pedimented Georgian residence in 1786-7. The middle part of the present-day building, with somewhat smaller windows, is what remains of the original house. Though Soane's drawing names it Mulgrave Hall, it had been re-named Mulgrave Castle before 1792. Accordingly, the architect William Atkinson added battlements to the roof in 1804-5. By the 1840s the baronial front hall and towers that we see today had gone up, in response to the Gothicizing enthusiasms of the time.
|Return to Category Main Page|